90 km from Köln (Germany) - 260 km from Arnhem (Netherlands) - 280 km from Brussels, Antwerp (Belgium) & Breda (Netherlands)

340 km from Amsterdam & Rotterdam (Netherlands) - 500 km from Paris (France)

Situated in the beautiful German volcano Eifel - GPS 50° 20' 16,15" N - 6° 56' 26,53" O

(vulkaaneifel site heeft ook versie in duits en engels: gebruiken!) (nog links in tekst leggen!)

In 1927, the first race - first with motorcycles, the day  with cars - was held on the 22 km long Nürburgring (the actual so called Nordschleife), on which the works were started in 1925 and for which at some moments up to 3.000 workmen were engaged.

Already in 1938, the first German GP had 200.000 visitors !
From the start of the Formula 1 for cars in 1950, the first Nürburgring GP F1 winner Alberto Ascari wins the first F1-race with a Ferrari.

1954 is an absolute culmination point for the Nürburgring: a record number of visitors of 400.000 (!) live the Germany-première of the "Silver Arrow" Mercedes, that wins with Fangio at the steering wheel. In 1955, 1956 and 1957 he won, respectively with a Mercedes SLR 300 (the same as the one Stirling Moss won the famous Mille Miglia), a Ferrari and a Maserati. In the end, he will be 5 times Worldchampion F1.

From 1955, the motorcycles come back to the "Ring" for hampion's races, though there weren't a lot of spectators.

While there is no F1 Grand Prix in 1959 in teh Eifel, there is a 1000-km race that is won by the legendary Sir Stirling Moss with an Aston Martin. He would win again in 1961, this time with a Lotus.

After that, big names like Graham Hill, John Surtees, Jim Clark, Jack Brabham, Jackie Stewart, Jacky Ickx, Clay Regazzoni and James Hunt also win races.

In 1965, the Italian Giacomo Agostini (see picture) wins the GP for motorcycels in the 350 cc category. Mike Hailwood wins in teh 500 category in that same year. Both ran on MV Agusta.

The heavy accident of Niki Lauda (who got burned badly in the face) in 1976 means the end of the Nürburgring as a Grand Prix scene. The decision is taken to build a new, shorter track.
However, the races for motorcycles continue. In 1978, the living legend Kenny Roberts (see picture) wins at the half liters.

In 1984, the new Nürburgring with a length of 4,5 km is opened.

The first Formula 1 win is for Ayrton Senna, a driver that is still rather unknown at that moment. After that, it's Alain Prost and Michele Alboreto that win their race.

After 10 years of absence, the Formula 1 returns to the Nürburgring in 1995. Michael Schumacher wins with his Benetton-Renault. The year after, it's Jacques Villeneuve who wins. The years after that, Mika Hakkinen and Johny Herbert are some of the race winners.

In 2003, the Grand Prix-Strecke is changed thouroughly again and the new tracklength is 5.148 m. Shortly after that, Ralf Schumacher wins a race.
The Nürburgring is still one of the most legendary tracks where every year a large number of important car and motorcycle events take place : Formula 1, 24 hours of the Nürburgring, Oldtimer Festival, IDM (Internationale Deutsche Meisterschaft (where the Belgian Werner Daemen won the Championship once), 1000 km race, Festa Ducati, Truck Grand Prix, World Series by Renault, Oldtimer Grand Prix, DTM (Deutsche Tourwagen Meisterschaft), Ferrari Racing Days, Rad & Run am Ring, Rock am Ring, etc.